As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we earn.

How we build Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream

The original, what makes it special, the shelf parts we use and how to get closer. Add or swap parts and the score updates.

Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream

The original · SkinBetter Science

Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream

$145 · 1 fl oz (30 ml)

A higher-strength version of AlphaRet Overnight Cream: the same ethyl lactyl retinoate base with glycolic acid listed ahead of sodium glycolate, indicating more free glycolic acid.

Official product page (opens in new tab)

Prices and listings checked Oct 28, 2026. Amazon prices change; the link shows today's price.

Step 2 · The build

Our build 4 parts

Mid-tier retinol + glycolic toner

  • Illustration of Paula's Choice CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment

    Paula's Choice

    CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment

    Retinol + peptides + THD ascorbate (PM)

    AAlphaRet retinoid-lactic conjugate · 12 of 30CTetrahexyldecyl ascorbate (oil-soluble vitamin C) · 11 of 15DPalmitoyl tripeptide-1 and tetrapeptide-7 · 11 of 15
  • Illustration of The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Exfoliating Toner

    The Ordinary

    Glycolic Acid 7% Exfoliating Toner

    Glycolic toner (PM, separate night)

    BGlycolic acid · 10 of 20
  • Illustration of CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum

    CeraVe

    Resurfacing Retinol Serum

    Adds: Niacinamide; Ceramide NP, hyaluronic acid and CoQ10

    AAlphaRet retinoid-lactic conjugate · 12 of 30ENiacinamide · 8 of 10FCeramide NP, hyaluronic acid and CoQ10 · 5 of 10
  • Illustration of Minimalist Multi Peptide + Hyaluronic Acid Serum

    Minimalist

    Minimalist Multi Peptide + Hyaluronic Acid Serum

    Adds: Palmitoyl tripeptide-1 and tetrapeptide-7

    DPalmitoyl tripeptide-1 and tetrapeptide-7 · 15FCeramide NP, hyaluronic acid and CoQ10 · 3 of 10
    ~$12.99Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)

    Listing not re-checked. Check the title and size on the retailer page.

Partial credit means the part only partly matches that standout.

The 100 points

What stands out 100 pts

We split Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream into 6 standout parts. Each bar shows what the build earns.

  • AAlphaRet retinoid-lactic conjugate12 of 30 pts

    The defining active: a retinoid bonded to lactic acid, meant to work as retinoid and AHA together with less irritation.

    No close retail equivalent: we credit at most 40% of these points.

  • BGlycolic acid10 of 20 pts

    Exfoliates the surface for smoother texture and a brighter look.

  • CTetrahexyldecyl ascorbate (oil-soluble vitamin C)11 of 15 pts

    A stable vitamin C form that helps with uneven tone and dullness.

  • DPalmitoyl tripeptide-1 and tetrapeptide-715 of 15 pts

    Signal peptides aimed at lines and firmness.

  • ENiacinamide8 of 10 pts

    Supports barrier and even-looking tone.

  • FCeramide NP, hyaluronic acid and CoQ105 of 10 pts

    Barrier lipids, hydration and an antioxidant that make a strong retinoid easier to tolerate.

Optional

Get closer score under 80

61 / 100. We have not found a shelf product that closes more of the gap yet.

82 is our ceiling. Proprietary conjugate: no retail product uses ethyl lactyl retinoate. Retinol or HPR retinoids give partial credit only.

Step 3 · Buy

Buy the build

One link per part. Each opens the retailer in a new tab.

Skincare SuppliesOct 28, 2026

Your build

  1. 01Paula's ChoiceCLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment~$65
  2. 02The OrdinaryGlycolic Acid 7% Exfoliating Toner$9
  3. 03CeraVeResurfacing Retinol Serum$21.99

    Cheaper in store: Retinol Night Serum. In store at Trader Joe's, $9.99 (price as of Oct 28, 2026), no link, we don't earn from this. 1 fl oz. $9.99/fl oz vs $21.99/fl oz, about 55% less per fl oz. A different product, a close match, not identical. Concentration not stated. The ingredient list comes from a third party, so check the label in store: ingredient source (opens in new tab).

  4. 04MinimalistMinimalist Multi Peptide + Hyaluronic Acid Serum~$12.99

    Running total ~$108.98

    Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)

    Listing not re-checked. Check the title and size on the retailer page.

Build total~$108.98
The splurge$145
Match61/100
You keep~$36.02

Snapshot prices. Each link shows today's price.

How to use

  1. PM only. 1% retinol 2 nights/week; glycolic toner once weekly on a different night. Patch test. SPF 30+ every AM.
  2. Add CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum: Closest budget serum for the stronger Intensive version: a true retinoid plus niacinamide and ceramides. It has no AHA, so add lactic acid separately. Ethyl lactyl retinoate (AlphaRet) is proprietary and not sold in any dupe, so every match is a functional approximation.
  3. Add Minimalist Multi Peptide + Hyaluronic Acid Serum: Same Matrixyl 3000 peptide pair as the original, high on the list; a peptide add-on, not a retinoid swap.

Other single-product swaps

One bottle instead of a build. Sorted by match score; scores use the same standouts as above.

mid Closest we found

CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment

Paula's Choice

Match score 34 out of 100

No close match yet — we show the nearest formulas.

~$65 Price not confirmed · 1 fl oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinol
  • Peptides
  • THD ascorbate (vitamin C)
  • Licorice

Misses

  • AHA
  • Ethyl lactyl retinoate

Why it is close. Mid-tier option with retinol, peptides and THD ascorbate, matching the vitamin C and peptide side of AlphaRet. Costs less than half as much.

Ingredient list source

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)

Cheaper generic: The Ordinary Retinol 1% in Squalane (opens in new tab) at Amazon, $15.94 for 1 fl oz (30 ml). ~$15.94/fl oz vs ~$65/fl oz, about 75% less per fl oz. Snapshot prices dated Oct 28, 2026. A different product, a close match, not identical; ingredient source (opens in new tab). Affiliate link.

Cheaper in store: Retinol Night Serum. In store at Trader Joe's, $9.99 (price as of Oct 28, 2026), no link, we don't earn from this. 1 fl oz. ~$9.99/fl oz vs ~$65/fl oz, about 85% less per fl oz. A different product, a close match, not identical. Concentration not stated. The ingredient list comes from a third party, so check the label in store: ingredient source (opens in new tab).

budget

Retinol 24 MAX Night Moisturizer

Olay

Match score 28 out of 100
~$34.99 Price not confirmed · 1.7 oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinol
  • Niacinamide
  • Peptides

Misses

  • AHA
  • Ethyl lactyl retinoate
  • Ceramides

Why it is close. Retinol plus niacinamide and a peptide in a moisturizing base. No exfoliating acid, so add one separately.

Ingredient list source

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)
budget

Retinol Correxion Deep Wrinkle Night Cream

RoC

Match score 26 out of 100
~$21.99 Price not confirmed · 1 oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinol
  • Glycolic acid
  • Vitamin C

Misses

  • Ethyl lactyl retinoate
  • Ceramides
  • Peptides
  • CoQ10

Why it is close. A night cream that also combines retinol, glycolic acid and vitamin C, the nearest active mix at drugstore price. Texture is heavier and irritation risk is likely higher than AlphaRet.

Ingredient list source

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)
budget

Resurfacing Retinol Serum

CeraVe

Match score 25 out of 100
$21.99 · 1 fl oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinol (retinoid)
  • Niacinamide
  • Ceramides
  • Hyaluronic acid

Misses

  • AHA bonded to retinoid
  • Glycolic acid
  • Vitamin C (THD ascorbate)
  • Peptides

Why it is close. Closest budget serum for the stronger Intensive version: a true retinoid plus niacinamide and ceramides. It has no AHA, so add lactic acid separately. Ethyl lactyl retinoate (AlphaRet) is proprietary and not sold in any dupe, so every match is a functional approximation.

Ingredient list source

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)

Cheaper in store: Retinol Night Serum. In store at Trader Joe's, $9.99 (price as of Oct 28, 2026), no link, we don't earn from this. 1 fl oz. $9.99/fl oz vs $21.99/fl oz, about 55% less per fl oz. A different product, a close match, not identical. Concentration not stated. The ingredient list comes from a third party, so check the label in store: ingredient source (opens in new tab).

budget

Minimalist Multi Peptide + Hyaluronic Acid Serum

Minimalist

Match score 18 out of 100
~$12.99 Price not confirmed · 30 ml / 1 fl oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Palmitoyl tripeptide-1
  • Palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7
  • Sodium hyaluronate

Misses

  • Retinoid
  • Glycolic acid
  • Tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate
  • Niacinamide
  • Ceramide NP

Why it is close. Same Matrixyl 3000 peptide pair as the original, high on the list; a peptide add-on, not a retinoid swap.

Ingredient list source

Listing not re-checked. Check the product title and size on the retailer page.

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)
budget

Minimalist Retinal 0.2% Liposomal Cream

Minimalist

Match score 17 out of 100
Check price on Amazon · 20 g / 0.7 oz
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinal
  • Hydrolyzed sodium hyaluronate
  • Resveratrol

Misses

  • Glycolic acid
  • THD ascorbate
  • Niacinamide
  • Peptides
  • Ceramide NP

Why it is close. Publishes 0.2% retinal (a stronger retinoid than retinol) in a simple cream with resveratrol and EUK-134; no other AlphaRet actives.

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)
budget

Granactive Retinoid 2% Emulsion

The Ordinary

Match score 12 out of 100
~$12.10 Price not confirmed · 30 ml
What it shares, what it misses

Shares

  • Retinoid (HPR plus retinol blend)

Misses

  • AHA
  • Niacinamide
  • Peptides
  • Ceramides

Why it is close. Cheapest way to get an ester-type retinoid. Low-irritation HPR is the nearest chemical cousin, but it has no AHA or supporting actives.

Ingredient list source

Buy on Amazon (opens in new tab)

What the science says

  • A double-conjugated retinoid/AHA cream was noninferior to 0.025% tretinoin in most categories over 12 weeks, with less irritation, in a 48-woman split-face study.

    McDaniel 2017 · J Cosmet Dermatol
  • An antioxidant plus double-conjugated retinoid/AHA cream was evaluated in participants with Fitzpatrick skin types IV-V.

    Grimes 2024 · J Cosmet Dermatol
  • Topical niacinamide (5%, 12 weeks, split-face) improved fine lines, hyperpigmented spots, redness and sallowness in aging facial skin.

    Bissett 2005 · Dermatol Surg

Full ingredient list

Show the INCI list

Aqua/Water, Glycolic Acid, Sodium Glycolate, Cetearyl Olivate, Pentylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isohexadecane, Sorbitan Olivate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Glycerin, Ceresin, Glycol Palmitate, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Squalane, Methyl Gluceth-20, Ethyl Lactyl Retinoate, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Ceramide NP, Hyaluronic Acid, Ubiquinone, Tocopherol, Bisabolol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Superoxide Dismutase, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Allantoin Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Linoleic Acid, Cholesterol, Linolenic Acid, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Steareth-2, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Acacia Senegal Gum, Xanthan Gum, Hydrated Silica, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

Source

Questions

What does the 61/100 score for our Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream build mean?

We split Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream into 6 standout parts worth 100 points in total. The build earns 61 of a possible 82. 82 is the most we claim, because some standouts have no close retail equivalent.

What is the best dupe for Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream?

CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment by Paula's Choice is our closest single-product match at 34 out of 100 for ~$65 (1 fl oz). It shares Retinol, Peptides, THD ascorbate (vitamin C), Licorice.

How much can I save on Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream?

Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream costs $145 for 1 fl oz (30 ml). The closest dupe costs ~$65, a saving of about $80. Prices change, so check the seller page.

Is CLINICAL 1% Retinol Treatment exactly the same as Intensive AlphaRet Overnight Cream?

No. Dupes share the key actives but can differ in concentration, vehicle and supporting ingredients. Missing from this one: AHA, Ethyl lactyl retinoate. See our methodology for how we score.

Related